5th Anniversary Halloween Broadcast: Christopher H. Baum’s “War of the Worlds”

On October 30, 1938, millions of people were convinced that Mars was invading New Jersey.  What the hell – let’s do it again.

Christopher Baum's War of The WorldsSci-fi and comics fans rarely need an excuse to dress up, but it stands to reason that Halloween is one of our favorite holidays! To help celebrate the day, Krypton Radio announces the return of Christopher H. Baum’s production of War of the Worlds.

On October 30, 1938, Orson Welles transfixed the American listening audience with what 1.7 million listeners were absolutely convinced was an invasion of New Jersey by invaders from the planet Mars. To commemorate this remarkable event in broadcasting history, Krypton Radio presents a special broadcast created by New Jersey native Christopher H. Baum. He has reinterpreted the H. G. Wells classic story for the modern age.

Christopher Baum has assembled a cast of 15 actors from across the United States. The story is told from the point of view of a NASA contractor as he recalls events he witnessed when Martians once again invade New Jersey in War of the Worlds.

Eighty years ago, Orson Welles broadcast “The War of the Worlds,” based on the novel by H.G. Wells originally published in 1898. That radio play was presented as a series of special reports interrupting what seemed to be regular broadcasts. It’s easy to be dismissive now, but in 1938, radio was the way people got up-to-the-minute news. America was still in the grip of the Great Depression. The Nazis were already on the rise in Europe. People believed the radio. And now, the only source of real time information was telling them that American was under attack by creatures from Mars.  It made history, with Orson Welles narrowly averting a law suit due to the mass panic his Mercury Theater of the Air created, but forever redefining the role of modern entertainment and the compelling voice of radio.

Christopher H. Baum’s War of the Worlds will air Wednesday October 31, 2018 on Krypton Radio, at the following times:

6 am Eastern / 5 am Central / 4 am Mountain / 3 am Pacific / 11 am GMT
10 pm Eastern / 9 pm Central / 8 pm Mountain / 7 pm Pacific / 4 am GMT

The program will be immediately followed by the original classic Orson Welles War of the Worlds, as it originally aired in 1938.

The Cast

  • Christopher H. Baum                      Narrator
  • Jewel Elizabeth                                 Dr. Carol Woking
  • Doug Myers                                       Special Agent Steven McKay
  • Steve Rimpici                                     News Anchor
  • Marjorie Kouns                                 Natalie Rivera
  • Kevin Irlen                                          Mr. Winslow
  • Leah Frederick                                  The Colonel
  • Tyler Abbott                                       Corporal Padmore
  • Anthony Aroya                                 Colonel John Lewes
  • Harry Schuster                                  The Farmer
  • Scottt Raven                                      The President
  • J. Christopher Dunn                        General Horowitz
  • Heidi Tabing                                       Doctor Chu
  • Mike Lemmerling                             The Lieutenant
  • Sarah Bisman                                     Announcer

-30-

 

Facebook Comments

What do you think?