Hot off the presses from the Science Fiction Writers of America’s Nebula Awards banquet at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City, Arlington, Virginia.

Grand master: Connie Willis
Service to SFWA Award: Bud Webster
Solstice Award for individuals who have had “a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape, and is particularly intended for those who have consistently made a major, positive difference within the speculative fiction field.” Cynthia Felice accepts the award on behalf of the late Octavia E. Butler
Joe Haldeman accepts on behalf of John Clute
The Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation: Doctor Who: “The Doctor’s Wife,” Neil Gaiman (writer), Richard Clark (director) (BBC Wales)
The Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book: The Freedom Maze, Delia Sherman (Big Mouth House)
Short story: “The Paper Menagerie” by Ken Liu (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, March/April 2011)
Novelette: “What We Found” by Geoff Ryman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, September/October 2011)
Novella: “The Man Who Bridged the Mist” by Kij Johnson (Asimov’s Science Fiction, October/November 2011)
Novel: Among Others by Jo Walton (Tor)

The Nebula Award is given each year by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA), for the best science fiction/fantasy fiction published in the United States during the previous year. There is no cash prize associated with the award, instead the award itself being a transparent block with an embedded glitter spiral nebula with gemstones cut to resemble planets. The first Nebulas were given for 1965. Frank Herbert’s Dune won as Best Novel.

– 30 –


  • Science Fiction Writers of America’s page on the Nebula Awards