Scholastic  has just announced a new Harry Potter Reading Club. This will be a collaboration between Scholastic, educators, libraries, after-school program coordinators and parents “who want to organize a book club with access to all the tools they need to host a Harry Potter Reading Club and celebrate the joy of reading. The first 10,000 registrants for the Club will receive a welcome kit including bookmarks, stickers and name tags.

To top it off, J.K. Rowling, will be appearing in a LIVE Virtual webchat to launch this new reading club for young readers on October 11th, at 5:00pm GMT/12:00 pm ET/9:00 am PT. Miss Rowling will be hosting the web chat from her home in Edinburgh and answering questions from young readers for the first time since 2007 when she read from Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows in New York City.

The news came to us through Whimsic Alley, who posted the announcement on their Facebook page.

– 30 –