dungeonmasterLogoAdmit it: few things are geekier than a LARP (live action role playing) game. This week’s episode of The Event Horizon highlights a theater troupe that takes LARPing to its logical extreme as your hosts Gene Turnbow and Susan Fox have a lively sit down with the creative masterminds behind Dungeon Master LA. 

Tune in at 9 p.m. Pacific / 12 a.m. Eastern this Saturday, or 4 p.m. Pacific / 7 p.m. Eastern this Sunday, to hear our lively conversation with Spencer Coates,  Xander Jeanneret, Benjamin Thomas, Kevin Becker and Ryan Shrewsbury.

Dungeon Master is a unique blend of theater and live action role play. Audience members are allowed to join in with the cast on stage and improvise their way through a devilishly challenging dungeon adventure, but guided scene by scene by a dungeon master who keeps the plot flowing. Although each episode is scripted and rehearsed, once the audience members get on stage, the results are always unpredictable. It’s something like an on-stage masquerade, too, and costumes are encouraged. It’s like Dungeons and Dragons meets improv theater, and it’s hilarious fun.

The Dungeon Master LA troupe (there are others around the world) presents two production seasons a year, comprised of 13 episodes each, with an overarching story line that threads all the shows together.

The Event Horizon – it’s Sci-Fi for your Wifi.

– 30 –

Facebook Comments