has been officially announced that Supergirl is joining the DC Comics shared universe on the CW, dubbed by fans as the “Flarrowverse” due to Arrow and The Flash being the founding shows of said universe. Also in that continuity is the currently running Legends of Tomorrow and the cancelled Constantine.

This move comes after CBS executives spent time deciding whether to keep their network’s first foray in producing a superhero show for another season. Since the show is already executive produced by Greg Berlanti and Andrew Kreisberg, who also executive produce the other CW DC shows, it will be an easy transition and natural fit. Especially since the CW is co-owned by CBS and Warner Brothers.

The Flash (left) with Executive Producer Greg Berlanti (middle) and Supergirl (right).

Grant Gustin as The Flash (left) with Executive Producer Greg Berlanti (middle) and Melissa Benoist as Supergirl (right).

This will also pave the way for more crossovers with The Flash, like the already highly acclaimed crossover episode from earlier this year, as well as characters from the rest of the DC Universe such as Green Arrow, Black Canary, the Atom, Hawkgirl and Rip Hunter from other CW shows.

Supergirl stars Melissa Benoist as Supergirl/Kara Danvers, Mehcad Brooks as James Olsen, Chyler Leigh as Alex Danvers, Jeremy Jordan as Winn Schott, David Harewood as Martian Manhunter, Calista Flockhart as Cat Grant, Peter Facinelli as Maxwell Lord and Jenna Dewan Tatum as Lucy Lane.

No word yet on how the move to the CW will affect the cast, storyline or budget of Supergirl. Presumably the show will move to Vancouver, British Columbia where a majority of the CW shows are filmed.