Gideon Marcus, during an appearance at ConDor 2016.

Gideon Marcus, during an appearance at ConDor 2016.

This evening’s show will feature guest Gideon Marcus, a professional space historian, freelance journalist, and the creator of the acclaimed science fact/fiction blog,  Galactic Journey.

Imagine living through the post-Golden Age of science fiction and fantasy. What would it be like to experience this journey at the plodding, one day per day, pace?

galactic-journey-cropped-1-809x283The Traveler lives in 1961, but he regularly commutes 55 years into the future to write about then-contemporary science fiction and fantasy, particularly fiction found in magazines.  Of course, just detailing the fiction of the day would be without context, not to mention a little dull.  There is something there on every piece of the sci-fi fan’s experience living through the 1960’s. Gideon, writing as The Traveler, talks about movies, the space shots, the politics, the music, and everything else that makes up the gestalt of that era.

Galactic Journey appears to be unique. There is nothing like the Journey.  Jump through the portal and you will see a world you may but dimly remember, or which you may never have seen before, but without which your time could never have been.

The Event Horizon airs tonight at 9 pm PT / Midnight ET, and will replay on the following days and times:

  • Sunday 4 pm PT / 7 pm ET
  • Tuesday / Saturday 4 am PT / 7 am ET

After all the airtimes have passed, you will find this episode and others on iTunes and Stitcher (and of course on our own show page) as podcasts.

Gene Turnbow and Susan Fox host.

The Event Horizon – it’s Sci-fi for your Wifi!

-30-