Studio Photographer Dennys Ilic

Studio Photographer Dennys Ilic

Our guest for this evening’s episode of The Event Horizon here on Krypton Radio is a visual artist by trade, and you’d think that would be problem for a radio show. Our guest this evening is Dennys Ilic (pronounced “Dennis Illitch”). He’s a cinematographer turned photographer who has had some of the most remarkable experiences a photographer can have, and is intimately familiar with the world of science fiction and fantasy in film and television. You’ve probably been seen his work for years without realizing it. Every time a studio wants to have a suite of photographs of one of their famous actresses or actors for publicity purposes, Dennys is frequently the one they call. Working with actors like Edward James Olmos, Daniel Radcliffe and Patricia Helfer, he has no shortage of subjects.

Dennys Ilic's photograph of Lou Ferrigno, who is in turn famous for his role on television as The Incredible Hulk

Dennys Ilic’s photograph of Lou Ferrigno, who is in turn famous for his role on television as The Incredible Hulk

Dennys is, in fact, working on two books, Men of Science Fiction, and an upcoming companion book, Women of Science Fiction.

With studios in Los Angeles, New York and Melbourne, Dennys carts his camera equipment—and keen eye—around the globe, producing dazzling, contemporary and artistic images for his dynamic clientele.  Dennys’ photographic vision is uniquely versatile, and this versatility is reflected in the staggering array of clients served: major motion pictures; high-end magazines; and actors and actresses from screens big and small.

Equally skilled at A-list editorial and celebrity portraiture, Dennys is perhaps best known for edgy and soulful images that capture the true essence of his subject matter. Thus, his photography has been commissioned by a number of major film studios, including Warner Bros. Pictures, Roadshow, United Pictures International (UPI) and Newline Cinema.

Daniel Radcliffe as photographed by Dennys Illic.

Daniel Radcliffe as photographed by Dennys Illic.

As it happens, getting people who work in any medium to come on the show and talk about their craft works really really well, because you get to hear in their own words what those artists thinks about the world they work in, and sometimes some of the nuts and bolts of how they do it.

Tune in this evening at 9 pm PT / Midnight ET for the first broadcast of this intimate and sometimes surprising interview with this internationally renowned photographer. Your hosts this evening are Susan Fox and Gene Turnbow.

The episode airs again tomorrow (Sunday) at 4 pm PT / 7 pm Eastern, then again on the following Tuesday and Saturday at 4 am PT / 7 am ET, and from there it goes to iTunes, Stitcher, and of course our own web site on The Event Horizon show page as a podcast.

The Event Horizon – it’s Sci-Fi for your Wifi!

-30-