Programme Name: Doctor Who S10 – TX: 27/05/2017 – Episode: The Pyramid At The end Of The World (No. 7) – Picture Shows: Secretary General (TOGO IGAWA), Xiaolian (DAPHNE CHEUNG), The Commander (NIGEL HASTINGS), Nardole (MATT LUCAS) – (C) BBC/BBC Worldwide – Photographer: Simon Ridgway

Daphne Cheung played General Xiaolian in the recent series 10 episode of Doctor Who titled The Pyramid at the End of the World. This Saturday, she joins your hosts Gene Turnbow and Susan Fox to talk about the experience.

Daphne has been acting in film and television, and has been on everything from Columbo and Highlander TV movies, to appearances on Bay Watch, to an interesting role as a series lead on the popular kid’s series Spirit Warriors on the BBC.


She just made the leap to Doctor Who this year. When she wrote to us with this:

I recently achieved a long held ambition, when I had the very good fortune to be cast in a lovely fun role alongside the fabulous Peter Capaldi, Matt Lucas & Pearl Mackie in Doctor Who!

we knew we had to have her on the show.

And it gets better. Daphne has a daughter named Jade Coatsworth, who is studying acting herself. Jade’s 17th birthday came around while her mother Daphne was working on the two-episode shoot, so Peter Capaldi decided to help make things better. This is what happened.

The episode of The Event Horizon featuring Daphne Cheung and her daughter Jade Coatsworth airs here on Krypton Radio at the following days and times:

  • Saturday July 1 and Sunday 2, 2017 at 4 PM Pacific / 7 PM Eastern / 12 AM BST (British Summer Time)
  • Thursday July 6 and Saturday July 8 at 4 AM Pacific / 7 AM Eastern / 12 PM BST (British Summer Time)

The Event Horizon – It’s Sci-Fi for your Wifi!

-30-