Today, August 22nd, DC Comics launches DC Fandome, a free virtual event, which will bring thousands of fans together from all over the world through a series of livestreamed videos to celebrate all things DC, whether that’s film, TV, comics or games. The event lasts 24hrs.

Schedule

Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman
  • Wonder Woman 1984 panel (10AM PDT/6PM BST) Features Gal Gadot, Chris Pine, Kristen Wiig, Pedro Pascal and director/co-writer/producer Patty Jenkins, as well as a sneak peek at the film. 
  • Warner Bros Games Montreal Announcement (10.25AM PDT/6.25PM BST) This is almost certainly where you’ll get your glimpse at the next Batman game, rumored to be called Gotham Knights. 
  • The Sandman Universe: Enter the Dreaming Panel (10.45AM PDT/6.45PM BST) Neil Gaiman features in this comic book-y panel, which will also touch upon the audiobook adaptation of the Sandman comics. Michael Sheen will also appear.
  • Multiverse 101 Panel (11.20AM PDT/7.20 PM BST) DC head Jim Lee, Warner Bros’ Walter Hamada and DC TV producer Greg Berlanti discuss the DC Multiverse in detail, and presumably how all the shows and movies fit together.
  • Introducing Flash Panel (11.40AM PDT/7.40PM BST) Learn more about the long-gestating The Flash movie, with director Andy Muschietti, producer Barbara Muschietti, star Ezra Miller and writer Christina Hodson.  
  • The Suicide Squad Panel (11.55AM PDT/7.55 PM BST) James Gunn’s Suicide Squad movie should be a lot more fun than the original, and here the Guardians of the Galaxy director will discuss it in depth, with some of the cast appearing too. 
  • BAWSE Females of Color Within the DC Universe (12.40PM PDT/8.40 PM BST) Panellists include Meagan Good (Shazam!), Javicia Leslie (Batwoman), Candice Patton (The Flash), Tala Ashe (DC’s Legends of Tomorrow), Nafessa Williams and Chantal Thuy (Black Lightning), and Anna Diop and Damaris Lewis (Titans).
  • Surprise DC Comics Panel (1.45PM PDT/9.45PM BST) This one’s a mystery, but it’s listed as Hall of Heroes panel.
  • The Snyder Cut of Justice League panel (2.30PM PDT/10.30PM BST) One of the day’s main events, director Zack Snyder will discuss his 2021 recut of Justice League, and it’ll feature some special guests. 
  • Black Adam panel (3.10PM PDT/11.10PM BST) Dwayne Johnson features in this panel on the long-in-the-works Black Adam DC Comics movie.  
  • Aquaman panel (4.05PM PDT/12.05AM BST) Director James Wan and star Patrick Wilson will talk about the massively successful 2018 DC movie. 
  • Ask Harley Quinn (4.15PM PDT/12.15AM BST) A tie-in to the adult animated TV series, this 10-minute panel has Harley answering fan questions. 
  • Tomorrow’s Super Heroes with Jim Lee brought to you by Gold House (4.15PM PDT/12:15 AM BST) DC’s CCO Jim Lee will chat to Bing Chen of non-profit organzation Gold House to explore the vital influence of Asian writers and artists to the world of comic books. 
  • SHAZAM! – Panel (4.35PM PDT/12.35AM BST) Zachary Levi and friends will talk a little about the Shazam! sequel, among other subjects.
  • Wonder Woman 1984 – The WW84 Cast Play ‘Werewolf 1984’ (4.45PM PDT/12.45AM BST) The Wonder Woman sequel’s cast plays a game they created on-set, which is presumably some version of the Werewolf party game. 
  • Suicide Squad: Kill the Justice League (5.10PM PDT/1.10AM BST) After years of silence, Rocksteady Studios will finally discuss its new game, focused on the group of supervillains. 
  • The Batman – Panel (5.30PM PDT/1.30AM BST) This is the big one. Director and writer Matt Reeves will chat to Aisha Tyler about 2021’s Batman movie starring Robert Pattinson, with surprises promised. 

Editor’s Note: DC Fandome happens this weekend despite massive layoffs at DC Comics, DC Universe and Warner Bros. as they consolidate the DC Universe content into the new HBO Max streaming service. According to Variety and a statement from Jim Lee, however, DC Comics is actually expanding, just changing how they do things and going to a more internet-friendly business model.

At DC Comics, editor-in-chief Bob Harras, editors Brian Cunningham and Mark Doyle, senior VP of publishing strategy and support services Hank Kanalz, VP of marketing Jonah Weiland, and VP of global publishing initiatives and digital strategy Bobbie Chase have all exited as part of the restructuring.

WarnerMedia’s hundreds of layoffs included several senior level executives at Warner Bros., including Jeffrey Schlesinger, the president of Warner Bros. Worldwide Television Distribution. Ron Sanders, who served as president of Warner Bros.’ worldwide theatrical distribution and home entertainment.

-30-